Alpine Convention

For sustainable development of the Alps

The Alpine Convention is an international agreement that involves the alpine states (Germany, France, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Austria, Switzerland and Slovenia) as well as the EU. It aims to promote sustainable development in the Alpine area and protect the interests of the people living within it. It embraces environmental, social, economic and cultural aspects.

In order to realise this goal, a framework convention and eight thematic protocols were adopted along with each being dedicated to the following themes: spatial planning and sustainable development, mountain farming, mountain forests, conservation of nature and countryside, energy, soil conservation, tourism and transport. Many of the protocols have been directly applied in the Nature Park and are thus clearly visible. The Alpine Convention is therefore an important instrument to maintain our Alps and promote further sustainable development.

Logo der Alpenkonvention
Nature Conservation » Alpine Convention